Section and Focus Group Awards and Lectures

AGU sections and focus groups recognize outstanding work within their scientific field by hosting nearly 25 named lecture presentations as well as awarding over 30 awards and prizes annually. Awardees – in various stages of their careers – and named lecturers – that represent some of the most innovative minds in their fields – are selected for contributing meritorious work or service toward the advancement and promotion of discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of humanity.

AGU sections and focus groups will accept nominations for awards, starting 15 January 2015. The submission deadline for 2015 section and focus group honors nominations is 15 April 2015.

New Effective in 2015, the Honors and Recognition Committee has approved that all section and focus group named lectures are not required to follow a nomination cycle process (i.e., submit a nomination package). Sections and Focus Groups have the flexibility to adopt what process will best serve their communities in selecting their lecture recipients.