AGU Announces 2014 Union Awards, Medals, and Prizes Honorees

The Honors and Recognition Committee and the Union Awards, Medals and prize selection committees honor these individuals whose passion for scientific excellence and outstanding achievements in advancing and communicating science significantly contributes to a better future for us all.

AGU will celebrate their breakthrough achievements and exceptional work at an annual Honors Ceremony and Banquet to be held on 17 December 2014 at the Fall Meeting in San Francisco.

Join AGU in congratulating the following 2014 AGU Union Medals, Awards and Prize Recipients:


William Bowie Medal

Hiroo Kanamori, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif.

James B. Macelwane Medal

Rajdeep Dasgupta, Rice University, Houston, Texas
Christian Frankenberg, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
J. Taylor Perron, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.
David Shuster, University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.
Jessica Tierney, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Mass.

John Adam Fleming Medal

Gary Glatzmaier, University of California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, Calif.

Walter H. Bucher Medal

Bryan Isacks, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

Maurice Ewing Medal

John Andrews Whitehead, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Mass.

Robert E. Horton Medal

W. James Shuttleworth, University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.

Harry H. Hess Medal

Donald DePaolo, University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.

Roger Revelle Medal

Christopher Field, Carnegie Institute of Science, Stanford, Calif.

Inge Lehmann Medal

Thorne Lay, University of California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, Calif.

Charles A. Whitten Medal

Paul Segall, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.


Climate Communications Prize

Katharine Hayhoe, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas


Ambassador Award

Ghassem Asrar, Joint Global Research Institute, College Park, Md.
Paul Hsieh, United States Geological Survey, Menlo Park, Calif.
Scott Mandia, Suffolk County Community College, Selden, N.Y.
James Overland, Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, Seattle, Wash.
Michael Wysession, Washington University in St. Louis, St Louis, Mo.

Edward A. Flinn III Award

Daniel Fornari, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Mass.

Waldo E. Smith Award

Meinrat Andreae, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Mainz, Germany

Charles S. Falkenberg Award

Curt Tilmes, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Greenbelt, Md.

Athelstan Spilhaus Award

Simon Lamb, Victoria University of Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand

International Award

Mioara Mandea, CNES French National Center for Space Studies, Paris, France

Excellence in Geophysical Education Award

R. Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, Va.

Science for Solutions Award

Chigomezyo Ngwira, Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–Features

Elizabeth Kolbert, The New Yorker

David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–News Award

Andrew Grant, Science News