Maurice Ewing Medal

Basic Information


Nomination Process & Requirements


Ewing Medal Committee


Nominations for the Ewing Medal are open. Submit a Nomination »

The Maurice Ewing Medal is given annually to one honoree in recognition for “significant original contributions to the ocean sciences.”

Established in 1974 and jointly sponsored with the United States Navy, the Ewing Medal is named in honor of Maurice Ewing, who made significant contributions to deep-sea exploration. Walter H. Munk was the first recipient of the Ewing Medal.

Maurice Ewing Biography

• Engraved medal
• AGU Conferred Fellow (if honoree is not already an AGU Fellow, and has been an AGU member for three consecutive years at the time of their award, with exceptions allowed in cases of financial hardship.)
• Recognition in Eos
• Recognition at the AGU Fall Meeting during the award
presentation year
• Four complimentary hotel nights at the AGU Fall Meeting during
the award presentation year
• Two complimentary tickets to the Honors Banquet at the AGU
Fall Meeting during the award presentation year


The primary criterion is for significant original contributions to the ocean sciences. Contributions for the advancement of oceanographic engineering, technology, and instrumentation, and/or outstanding service to the marine sciences are additional criteria taken into consideration in the evaluation of candidates.”

AGU Section Affiliation(s): Atmospheric Sciences (AS); Mineral Rock Physics (MRP); Ocean Sciences (OS); Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology (PP); Seismology (S);  Techtonophysics (T); Volcanology, Geochemistry and Petrology (VGP)

Nomination Process & Requirements

Nomination Eligibility:



  • Active AGU membership is required.
  • Compliance with AGU Conflict of Interest Policy.
  • Duplicate nominations for one individual will not be accepted. However, one co-nominator is permitted (but not required) per nomination.


Nomination Requirements:

Two or more nomination packages for a single candidate will not be considered. If separate packages are received, the nominators will be asked to combine them.

Your nomination package should contain the following files, which should be no more than two (2) pages in length per document:

  1. Nomination letter with one-sentence citation. Letterhead stationary is preferred, and should include the nominator’s name, title, institution and contact information. The citation should appear at either the beginning or end of the nomination letter and be no more than 150 characters.
  2. Nominee’s curriculum vitae (CV). Please include all of following information for the candidate: name; mailing and email address; history of employment; degrees; research experience; honors; memberships, and service to the community through committee work, advisory boards, etc.
  3. Nominee’s selected bibliography. Briefly state the total number and types of publications and specify the number published in AGU publications. For example: Jane Doe is the author of 92 publications, 86 in peer-reviewed scientific journals, 14 of which have been published in AGU journals and books. The following selected list best supports Jane’s nomination for the Ewing Medal.
  4. 3 letters of support (total does not include nomination letter). Letterhead stationary is preferred. Supporter’s name, title, institution, and contact information are required.

Submission Process

Nominations open: 15 January 2019
Nominations close: 15 April 2019

Nominations for the Ewing Medal must be submitted through the online submission system.

Nomination packages submitted online must be complete at the time of submission. Please note that only complete packages will be forwarded to the Ewing Medal Committee for review.

For detailed information on nomination requirements, please view the AGU Union Awards, Medals and Prize frequently asked questions (FAQ) section. For additional questions, contact the Honors Team at