The Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize

Basic Information


Nomination Process & Requirements


Taira Prize Committee


Nominations for the Taira Prize are open. Submit a Nomination »

The Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize (The Taira Prize) is given annually to one honoree in recognition of  “outstanding transdisciplinary research accomplishment in ocean drilling.”

Established in 2014, the Taira Prize is a partnership between the American Geophysical Union (AGU) and the Japan Geoscience Union (JpGU), and is made possible through the generous donation from the Integrated Ocean Drilling Program Management International (IODP-MI). The prize is given in honor of Dr. Asahiko Taira of the Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology.


  • Engraved award
  • $18,000 monetary prize
  • Invitation to present a lecture at the AGU Fall Meeting during odd award presentation year, and at the JpGU Annual Meeting during even award presentation year
  • Recognition at the AGU Fall Meeting during award presentation year
  • Two complimentary tickets to the Honors Banquet at the AGU Fall Meeting during the award presentation year
  • Recognition in Eos 


  • For outstanding and transdisciplinary scientific contributions enabled by ocean drilling.
  • Nominee must be making an impact in the field of ocean drilling

AGU Section Affiliation(s): Biogeoscience (B); Global Environmental Change (GEC); Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism (GP); Mineral Rock Physics (MRP); Near Surface Geophysics (NS); Ocean Sciences (OS); Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology (PP); Seismology (S); Techtonophysics (T); Volcanology, Geochemistry and Petrology (VGP)

Nomination Process & Requirements

Nomination Eligibility:


  • Active AGU membership is not required.
  • Nominee must be an active early career/early mid-career scientist who is within 15 years of receiving their Ph.D. of any discipline. Exceptions to the 15 year requirement due to unusual circumstances can be considered on a case basis by the current Taira Prize Committee.
  • Compliance with AGU Conflict of Interest Policy.


  • Active AGU membership is not required.
  • Compliance with AGU Conflict of Interest Policy.
  • Duplicate nominations for one individual will not be accepted. However, one co-nominator is permitted (but not required) per nomination.


Nomination Requirements:

Your nomination package should contain the following files, which should be no more than two (2) pages in length per document:

  1. Nomination letter with one-sentence citation. Letterhead stationary is preferred, and should include the nominator’s name, title, institution and contact information. The citation should appear at either the beginning or end of the nomination letter and be no more than 150 characters.
  2. Nominee’s curriculum vitae (CV). Please include all of following information for the candidate: name; mailing and email address; history of employment; degrees; research experience; honors; memberships, and service to the community through committee work, advisory boards, etc.
  3. Nominee’s selected bibliography. The list should encompass the candidate’s overall research and scientific contribution that best support their nomination for the Taira Prize.
  4. 3 letters of support (total does not include nomination letter). Letterhead stationary is preferred. Supporter’s name, title, institution, and contact information are required.

Submission Process


Nominations open: 15 January 2019
Nominations close: 15 April 2019

Nominations for the Taira Prize must be submitted through the online submission system.

Nomination packages submitted online must be complete at the time of submission. Please note that only complete packages will be forwarded to the Taira Prize Committee for review.

For detailed information on nomination requirements, please view the AGU Union Awards, Medals and Prize frequently asked questions (FAQ) section. For additional questions, contact the Honors Team at