Visit AGU's new digital experience


The Hydrology Section is one of the eleven sections in the American Geophysical Union. Hydrologists study the occurrence, distribution, movement, and properties of water as a solid, liquid, and vapor, as it cycles through surface waters, the atmosphere, and the surface layers of the Earth. Hydrological inquiry involves almost all of the physical sciences, including physics, chemistry, geology, soil sciences, and meteorology, as well as engineering, the social sciences, and life sciences.

Its members are concerned with the cycling of continental water (solid, liquid and vapor) at all scales, and with physical, chemical and biological processes driven by that cycling. Of AGU’s almost 60,000 members, about 7000 list their primary affiliation with the hydrology section.

The Section’s scientific activities are administered by twelve technical committees: Echohydrology, Groundwater, Hydrogeophysics, Hydrologic Uncertainty, Large-Scale Field Experimentation, Precipitation, Remote Sensing, Soil and Critical Zone Processes, Surface Water, Unsaturated Zone, Water and Society, and Water Quality. Thus members of the Hydrology Section study a variety of water-related issues and concerns such as the relationship of land-based surface water processes to weather and climate, including floods, droughts, and erosion; groundwater flow and the remediation of contaminated groundwater; and the characteristics and causes of water quality conditions.

The Hydrology section has established a research grant, two awards, and two named lectures to recognize outstanding scientists who are in various stages of their career. Details about each honor are provided below.