Visit AGU's new digital experience

Ocean Sciences

The Ocean Sciences Section of AGU was one of the union’s original sections. It was founded in 1920 as the physical oceanography section and renamed the Ocean Sciences Section in 1923. The list of past presidents contains some of the leading names of the field. As of April 2015, the section currently has over 6000 members, with primary affiliations as follows:

Biological Oceanography
Marine Geochemistry
Marine Geology and Geophysics
Physical Oceanography
Ocean Sciences

Charged with exploring three fourths of the planet, the Ocean Sciences Section is necessarily large and inclusive. The section welcomes members whose primary interests are marine related, regardless of discipline.

The Ocean Sciences section has established three awards and four named lectures to recognize outstanding scientists who are in the early, mid, and advanced stages of their career. Details about each honor are provided below.