Marshall Receives Cryosphere Young Investigator Award

Hans-Peter Marshall received the 2010 Cryosphere Young Investigator Award at the 2010 AGU Fall Meeting, held 13–17 December in San Francisco, Calif. The award is for “a significant contribution to cryospheric science and technology.”


Hans-Peter Marshall, Geosciences, studio portraitIt gives me the greatest pleasure to introduce H. P. Marshall of Boise State University, winner of the 2010 Cryosphere Young Investigator Award. Marshall is currently an assistant professor, but I have known him since he was an undergraduate. Even back then, I might have guessed he would win this award. His research has extraordinary depth and breadth for one so new. He is the acknowledged master of the frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar for snow in the United States and is pioneering unique partnerings between snow geophysics and snow microstudies through the use of near-infrared photography and micropenetrometry. He has worked all over the Arctic and the Rocky Mountain west and is perhaps the most capable and pleasant of companions during fieldwork. The data he is collecting now may soon inform us about how snow distributes over large areas, a topic that has eluded quantification up to now. Moreover, if he is successful in developing and fielding an accurate and practical airborne snow radar, his work is likely to revolutionize snow field studies. He is fully deserving of the 2010 Cryosphere Young Investigator Award, and I expect we will continue to see excellence from him in the future.

Matthew Sturm, U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory, Fort Wainwright, Alaska


Thank you to the AGU Cryosphere Focus Group for this award and the National Snow and Ice Data Center for the generous travel stipend—I am very honored. I would like to thank, in particular, Martin Schneebeli, my advisor while I was a visiting Ph.D. student at the WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF, in Switzerland, for the wonderful nomination, and to Matthew Sturm for the thoughtful presentation of the award at AGU. Thanks also to Matthew, Kelly Elder, and John Bradford for supporting letters.

There is a saying, “It takes a whole community to raise a child.” The cryosphere community has certainly done this for me, as there have been so many great people who have affected my career. As an undergraduate at University of Washington I was first exposed to glaciology through the NASA Space Grant Undergraduate Research Program, working with Twit Conway and Ed Waddington studying glaciers, ice sheets, and avalanches. This experience had a huge impact, and I noticed that most of the recipients of this award also were exposed to research as undergraduates—please continue to involve young students in your work.

I would not be where I am today without the amazing research opportunities I had at the Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory with Gary Koh, Matthew Sturm, Jerry Johnson, and John Holmgren. Thanks to my Ph.D. advisor, Tad Pfeffer, and to Joel Harper, Chris Pielmeier, Karl Birkeland, Simon Yueh, Don Cline, Danny Marks, Rick Forster, Rajagopalan Balaji, Kenny Matsuoka, Mark Williams, Michi Lehning, Jim McNamara, and the Boise State University Geosciences Department.

I’d like to thank my own generation of cryospheric scientists, any of whom are equally deserving of this award and who have been friends as well as colleagues on this path: Shad O’Neel, Nick Rutter, Jeff Deems, Eric Lutz, Tom Neumann, Bob Hawley, Ken Tape, Andy Gleason, Marco Tedesco, Brian Lazar, James McCreight, Tim Crone, Jeff Johnson, Eli Deeb, Chris Heimstra, and many others.

Finally, I’d like to thank my parents for teaching me to never stop learning and my wife, Christina, for her unconditional support. The cryosphere community has shaped my career, and I am honored to be part of such a great group of scientists. Thank you.

Hans-Peter Marshall, Boise State University, Boise, Idaho